GPT-Live can now place phone calls: OpenAI opens outbound SIP to all
OpenAI says outbound SIP calling is now open to all organizations in the Live API, letting developers connect GPT-Live to a phone number through their own SIP provider.

OpenAI has opened outbound SIP calling to every organization using its Live API, according to a Nov 2 entry in the OpenAI API changelog. Developers can now connect GPT-Live to a phone number through their own SIP provider.
What the changelog entry says
The entry is filed as a feature under the model gpt-live-1 and the v1/live/sessions endpoint. It is short. It says outbound SIP calling is available to all organizations through the Live API, that GPT-Live connects to a phone number through a SIP provider the customer chooses, and it points readers to a SIP guide.

SIP, the Session Initiation Protocol, is the standard that telephone carriers and voice-over-IP systems use to set up calls. The entry gives no pricing specific to SIP, no list of supported countries or carriers, no concurrency limits and no rollout schedule. The SIP guide page was not retrievable when this article was prepared, so those details are unconfirmed here.
The changelog does not say what was available before. The wording “is now available to all organizations” suggests access was narrower earlier, but the page does not state that.

What developers and businesses can do with it
Outbound calling means the application starts the call rather than waiting for one to arrive. Typical uses are appointment reminders, order follow-ups and customer callbacks. The changelog itself does not list any use cases, so those are examples of what the capability makes possible, not OpenAI claims.
The billing basics come from earlier entries on the same changelog. When GPT-Live became generally available in the API on Sep 10, OpenAI listed voice sessions at $0.05 per minute, billed per second, with backend model and tool usage charged separately. Whether calls placed over SIP follow that same rate is not stated in the Nov 2 entry, so teams should check the pricing page before planning volume. Any fees charged by the SIP provider come on top, since the customer brings their own.
The same changelog shows how GPT-Live has been built out in the weeks before the SIP entry:
- Sep 10: general availability, with full-duplex conversations that can continue while a backend model or agent handles reasoning and tools.
- Oct 15: native Decisions integration, so an app can act while the user is still speaking.
- Oct 16: prompt-to-voice for all API customers, plus nine new natural voices in German, French, Hindi, Japanese and Korean.
Read together, a phone number was the missing channel for a voice agent that already had custom voices, several languages and a delegation path to backend tools.
Open questions for anyone planning a deployment
Placing automated calls carries obligations that no API changelog covers. Rules on consent, disclosure that a caller is an AI and calling hours differ by country, and the entry says nothing about whether OpenAI adds safeguards, such as call-purpose checks or recording controls, on its side. Businesses will need to handle those requirements with their own legal teams and SIP carriers.
Quality over a real phone line is also untested in the public record. The page offers no latency figures for SIP calls, and OpenAI makes no claims about how GPT-Live handles poor connections or background noise on telephone audio. Any such claims would need independent testing.
The move also puts OpenAI in step with a wider push toward conversational voice. Our earlier report on Meta’s Muse app covered a rival consumer product that now talks back with a live avatar. The OpenAI change differs in kind: it is a developer building block, aimed at companies that want to wire a voice model into existing telephone infrastructure rather than a consumer app.
Where the information stops
For now, the official record is one sentence plus a link. The core fact is clear: any organization with Live API access can use outbound SIP calling with gpt-live-1. Everything that determines real cost and suitability, including per-call pricing, regional coverage and call limits, sits in documentation that was not available for review. Readers who build on this should treat the SIP guide as the authoritative source and verify the details before committing to a launch.
Sources
Sign Up for the Daily AI Pulse
One email a day. All the stories that matter.
By signing up, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy. You may unsubscribe at any time.
Alex CarterAI News & Big Tech CorrespondentAlex Carter writes for Aiholics, keeping readers updated on the fast-paced world of AI and Big Tech.
You may also like

OpenAI’s GPT-6 Cyber goes to vetted defenders first, not to the public API

Claude Code’s product lead Cat Wu is moving to OpenAI, Business Insider reports

ADNOC becomes the first energy firm on OpenAI’s Frontier platform, with G42 as partner
