Free AI video generators in 2026: What you get without paying and where the limits are
Few AI video generators are free in the full sense: most give a one-time credit pack, a daily allowance or nothing. Here is what Pika, Runway, Firefly, Gemini and Luma publish.

Plans, prices and features checked on the official pages on October 19, 2026.
Almost no AI video generator is unlimited and free. On the official pages, free access means a one-time credit pack (Runway), a daily allowance (Adobe Firefly), or a plan with no monthly credits where you buy top-ups (Pika). Google and Luma list no free video plan on the pages read for this guide.
Video costs far more to generate than text or images, so makers meter it in credits. Below: what each tool publishes for free users, what the paid step costs, and how to avoid wasting your allowance.

What free means for AI video: Three models, not one
Reading the pricing pages side by side, free access comes in three forms.
- A one-time credit pack. You get a fixed number of credits when you sign up and nothing after they run out. Runway works this way.
- A daily allowance. Credits refresh each day, so you can keep experimenting at low volume. Adobe Firefly describes this.
- A free account with no credits. The plan exists, but you pay per top-up to generate. Pika’s Free plan is built this way.
Some products have no free video plan at all. The Google AI plans page does not describe a free AI plan, and the Luma pricing page lists only paid tiers.

Plans and prices side by side
| Tool | Free access | Cheapest paid plan | Main limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Runway | Free: one-time 125 credits that do not expire | Standard: $15 a month ($12 billed annually), 625 credits | Free plan gets “a selection” of models and 5GB of storage |
| Pika | Free: $0, no monthly credits, top-ups only | Starter: $10 a month ($8 annually), 900 credits | Free: 2 parallel video generations; commercial license starts at Creator ($35) |
| Adobe Firefly | Free daily generations across image, video and audio | Firefly Standard: 2,000 credits, up to 20 five-second videos | Page gives no number for free video |
| Google (Gemini and Flow) | No free tier described | Google AI Plus: 200 Flow credits a month | Paid Google AI plan required for video in the Gemini app |
| Luma | No free plan mentioned | Plus: $30 a month ($25 annually), 10,000 credits | Commercial use listed from Plus |
Prices checked on October 19, 2026. Adobe prices are shown in local currency on its page, so check yours before buying.
Runway: A one-time pack to test the workflow
Runway’s Free plan is a deposit of 125 credits that do not expire, plus access to what the page calls a selection of generative creative models and 5GB of storage. It is enough to judge whether the output suits your project, not to produce a series.
Paid plans start at Standard ($15 a month, or $12 billed annually) with 625 credits, all video and image models, 5 parallel generations and 4K upscaling. Pro is $35 ($28 annually) with 2,250 credits and Max is $95 ($76 annually) with 9,500. The page lists “no watermarks” under Standard but does not say whether free outputs carry one, so check the result before publishing. Runway’s page also does not state a maximum resolution for the Free plan.
Pika: Free account, pay-as-you-go credits
Pika’s Free plan costs $0 and includes no monthly credits. You can buy top-up packs at 60 credits per $1 (for example 1,500 credits for $25). Top-ups expire 365 days after purchase and work on Pika Create and MCP, not the API or iOS app. The pricing page lists “no watermark” on every plan, including Free.
Pika’s own site describes Video Studio clips from short up to a 30-second multi-shot piece, Extend Video, and Pika Soundtrack for music and effects. It lists models including Seedance 2.5, MiniMax H3, Wan 3.0, Gemini Omni 1.1 Flash and Pika 2.5. Paid plans: Starter $10 ($8 annually, 900 credits), Creator $35 ($28, 3,150 credits, commercial license) and Fancy $95 ($76, 8,550 credits and up). Free and Starter have no commercial license.
Adobe Firefly: The clearest daily allowance
Adobe says you do not need a plan for free daily generations across image, video and audio, including models such as Nano Banana and Luma Ray3.14, and that limits refresh daily. It does not publish how many videos that covers, so expect it to be small.
Paid plans are measured in generative credits that reset monthly and do not roll over: Standard gives 2,000 credits (up to 20 five-second videos), Pro 4,000 (up to 40), Pro Plus 10,000 (up to 100), and Premium 50,000 with unlimited Firefly Video Model access. For still images from the same family of tools, see our guide to free AI image generator options.
Google and Luma: Strong tools behind a paid plan
Google’s page on video generation in Gemini says a Google AI subscription is required, and that Gemini Omni 1.1 Flash now replaces Veo in the app. It describes 10-second videos, native audio, video from up to five photos, multi-step editing and scene extension. It mentions a one-year student offer that it says ends soon. Google’s plans page lists Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra (5x and 20x) with 200, 1,000, 10,000 and 25,000 monthly Flow credits respectively; the text I could read did not show the prices.
Luma lists Plus at $30 a month ($25 annually) with 10,000 credits, Pro at $90 ($75) with 40,000 and Ultra at $300 ($250) with 150,000. Its page mentions no free plan or watermark rules. Luma models are also reachable inside Adobe Firefly, which is one way to try them under Adobe’s free daily allowance.
How to try a free AI video generator without wasting credits
- Pick the starting point. Text prompts suit new ideas; a still image gives you more control over the look, and most tools above accept one.
- Start on the free allowance: Firefly’s daily generations or Runway’s 125 credits.
- Keep clips short. Credit cost rises with length and resolution, and Pika’s page shows its example costs at 720p for 5 seconds.
- Write one subject, one action and one camera move per prompt. Long prompts rarely help.
- Check the export for a watermark and the plan for a commercial license before posting anywhere public.
- Only then compare paid plans by credits per dollar.
Limits and things to know about no-restriction and no-sign-up tools
Searches for generators with no restrictions, no filter or no sign-up are common, but none of the official pages read for this guide describes a no-login or unfiltered mode. Every tool above is account-based and credit-metered. Sites that promise unlimited, unfiltered video for free are not backed by a maker page here, so read the terms, assume uploads may be stored, and avoid uploading photos of other people.
Sora, Kling, Hailuo and Grok Imagine are also widely searched. Their official pricing pages could not be read in full for this guide, so no free limits are given for them. Check the maker’s current page; our earlier piece on Grok Imagine covers that launch.
Also note that free credits do not mean free rights. Pika lists a commercial license only from Creator, and Luma lists commercial use from Plus.
Common questions
Which AI video generator is free?
Adobe Firefly describes free daily generations without a plan, and Runway gives a one-time 125 credits. Pika’s Free plan has no credits, so you pay for top-ups. None is unlimited.
Which AI video generator makes the longest videos?
Pika’s site describes clips up to a 30-second multi-shot piece and an Extend Video tool. Google describes 10-second videos in Gemini with scene extension. Maximum length on free plans is not stated by these pages.
Is there an AI video generator with audio?
Yes. Google says Gemini videos include native audio, and Pika offers Pika Soundtrack for music and effects, plus speech and sound-effect studios. Adobe lists audio among its free daily generations.
Can I make a video from an image for free?
Image-to-video is common in these tools, but the pages read here do not spell out the free limits for it. Google says Gemini can build a video from up to five photos, on a paid plan. Test it with Firefly’s daily allowance or Runway’s starter credits.
How does an AI video generator work?
You give it a text prompt, an image or both, and a model generates a short clip frame by frame. Each clip uses credits, which is why makers meter free access. For the model design behind large generators, see mixture of experts.
Sign Up for the Daily AI Pulse
One email a day. All the stories that matter.
By signing up, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy. You may unsubscribe at any time.
Leo MartinsAI Tools, Prompts & Practical AI ExpertLeo Martins is the AI Tools & Practical AI Expert at Aiholics, focused on helping readers use artificial intelligence to improve productivity, creativity and everyday work.
You may also like

Runway Gen-3 Alpha goes public: A new era in AI video generation

Runway’s new AI tool Aleph is changing film VFX and the future of AI movies

AI detector free: What text and image checkers catch and how far to trust them
